$1,150.00 /month

Hiking / Beach in Minutes!!! Private Room in Upstairs 2B1B Apartment Share

Offered Available
Posted by : Andrea Sea on September 1, 2022
Metro Area: Los Angeles
Neighborhood: Old Topanga Canyon
Calabasas, California, 90290

About the space

Seeking My Next Fabulously Compatible Roommate!
Private unfurnished bedroom for rent in 2B1B apartment. The rest of the home is furnished, except there’s room for you to store your kitchen things and bathroom things.

$1150/month + Split Utilities, $1200 Deposit.
Utilities run from $40 to $80 for electricity (higher in winter for heating),
$45 for Spectrum high-speed internet (via ethernet cables to every room ~ faster/more reliable than WiFi),
$4 for super-filtered fluoride-free drinking water.
No gas bill, this apartment is all electric.

No tobacco smokers / drinking / drugs, no pets, one adult only.
LGBTQ friendly, 420 friendly, prefer no alcohol.

5 minutes to closest hiking trails, 10 minutes to Topanga State Beach and PCH, 12 minutes to Calabasas, Woodland Hills, Ventura Blvd, and 101 Freeway, 15 minutes to Topanga mall or Target or Costco, 20 minutes to Santa Monica, 30 minutes to Venice Beach, and the commute is worth it so you can be grounded in nature in this beautiful canyon. Near good surfing, hiking, mountain-biking, horse-riding.

Unfurnished Private Bedroom in an upstairs 2 Bedroom 1 Bathroom apartment in a 1960s apartment building. The building is old and worn, but has large rooms, and everything works. Your room is 13 x 10, gets morning sun, and has a view of trees and Topanga Creek, a full-size closet, and an extra linen/storage closet. 146 square feet is counting closet space.
The room will be empty except for a small organizer cabinet and shelves in the closets, an over-door rack of clothes hooks, a curtain rod with burgundy curtain, a space heater, a fan, and an ethernet cable to an internet router with four slots for plugging in to the internet.

Share bathroom, kitchen, and living/dining-room. The kitchen has a good amount of counter space and a stove and refrigerator. There is now a full-size portable dishwasher!!! There is no microwave oven, and I want to keep it that way. Stove is electric. Built-in oven broke. There is a small programmable oven that can make toast or cook frozen pizzas.
The bathroom has a shower/bathtub combo with shower water filter and a large space heater.
Livingroom/dining area is furnished, except could use a couple more dining chairs (there are only two). Livingroom has an old-fashioned Sony sound system (plays CDs and cassettes) and enough space to do Yoga/Qigong/T’ai Chi. There is no TV in the livingroom and I want to keep it that way (mental hygiene).

NO WIFI allowed for health reasons – great for electro-sensitive people! Spectrum for hard-wired high-speed internet – speedtest dot net showed 82 Mbps download on January 5, 2022. There is a daisy-chained router in your room with 4 ethernet slots – one for your computer, and you have 3 more open ethernet slots for internet access, e.g., if a friend visits and wants to plug in their laptop. This is the canyon, so cell reception depends on your carrier and your phone. I have the adapter that will connect an iPhone directly to the internet, and if you have an android phone, I know what adapter to order. I will also help set up a Google Voice account as a backup.
Here is a video showing connecting an iPhone to Ethernet. At about timestamp 1:22 she shows what models of iPhone and iPad this adapter works with.

Lightning to Ethernet Adapter for Apple Devices, with speedtest showing ethernet connection is faster than WiFi:

You get one parking spot in the lot (not reserved, first come first serve), and your guests have easy street parking. No street-sweeping parking tickets EVER! There is room for locking a bicycle behind my car in the carport, but not much room for outside storage. This building has NO laundry room because it’s on a septic system. Nearest laundromat is 12 minutes away on Topanga Canyon Blvd just south of Ventura Blvd.

I buy fluoride-free drinking water from House of Living Water or Drinking Water Depot and haul it up the hill. Your share of utilities will be about $35-$80 for electric (summer as low as $35, winter much higher because of heating), $45 for internet, and $4 for drinking water. There is no gas bill, this apartment is all electric.

There is a patio deck right outside our front door with seating and potted plants. Back yard has a new yoga deck and lovely walkway nightlights and partially-shaded outdoor seating areas near the garden, the creek, the mountain. You’re welcome to claim a spot to do some gardening inside a wire-mesh-enclosed garden that keeps out rabbits and birds.

Chemically sensitive person welcomed. I cannot handle toxic household cleaners, synthetic fragrances, synthetic air fresheners, or any kind of incense, even organic. I’m fine with real Essential Oils and burning small amounts of White Sage and Palo Santo. I need a roommate who does not smoke tobacco ~ I will smell it on your clothes and your breath and get a tox reaction headache. Smoking yummie green leaf in your bedroom or out on the deck is fine, as long as you keep the smoke out of shared spaces. If you like to use heavily-scented bodycare products, we are not going to be a good fit unless they’re all scented with real Essential Oils. If you are not chemically sensitive, you will be shocked at how many soaps and bodycare products and household cleaning products have synthetic / carcinogenic fragrances that cause me a tox reaction and cannot be used here.
Because of my sensitivities, and to prevent mold, I keep the windows open to air out the bathroom and kitchen/livingroom whenever they are not currently being heated, and sleep with all the windows open for fresh air, even in winter when it’s ridiculously cold outside. Of course, you can do whatever you want with the climate in your room. Heater and fan provided.

I am fine with overnight guests, as long as they’re staying just 1 to 3 nights at a time, and not moving in, and you clean up after them. You are welcome to have guests stay either in your room or on the futon in the livingroom. Please alert them to my chemical sensitivities and ask them not to wear cologne or perfume. If they’re going to be showering here, please offer them your non-toxic soap/shampoo/conditioner to prevent me suffering a tox reaction from their bodycare products. I sometimes have guests stay here too, usually only one night at a time, in the livingroom.

Topanga town center is 5 minutes away and has cute coffee shops, restaurants, gift shops, (pre-covid, there were also a yoga studio and art studios), live music and open mic nights, plus post office and fairly new library with monthly movie nights. 12 minutes to Woodland Hills or Calabasas, 20 minutes to Santa Monica. Lovely walk up to a lookout point with a bench to sit on and great views of the canyon starts just steps outside the door. Access to hiking/biking trails in Topanga State Park and Red Rock State Park is just 5 minutes away.

You *must* have a car, truck, or motorcycle to live here because there is no public transportation except the “BEACH BUS” that goes between Santa Monica and Woodland Hills once per hour from 9am to 4pm in beach weather. This place is at 1,000 feet elevation, and it is unsafe to ride a bike up into the canyon after sunset.

Rent is Month-to-Month, with intention of staying at least a few months.
References please!

Free Astrology compatibility check and credit check.
I’m a Leo and get along better with fire, air, and earth signs.

See full listing with more photos here:

Room for Rent in Topanga


  • Food Garden
  • Filtered Drinking Water
  • Parking space
  • View
  • Air Conditioning

About Room / House

  • Furnished:
  • Pets Allowed:
  • Availability:
  • Term Length:
    Long Term

Open to

Spiritual / Conscious
420 Friendly
Mature / Older
Health Conscious
Vegan / Vegetarian

Location map

Andrea Sea

Quote from a former roommate and dear friend: “She’s quirky in all the right ways!” I cannot live with a tobacco smoker, and I'm allergic to pets and mold. LGBTQ friendly, 420 friendly, prefer no alcohol in the home. I am chemically sensitive and electro-sensitive, and prefer a quiet, harmonious, responsible roommate who enjoys living in a toxin-free environment, and prefers all organic, all natural bodycare products and non-toxic household cleaning products. Because of my chemical sensitivities, I prefer male roommates – men generally use fewer chemical bodycare products – and female is fine if you’re an “all Dr. Bronner’s all the time” kind of girl. Free Astrology compatibility check and credit check. I’m a Leo and get along better with fire, air, and earth signs. VIBE: Healthy lifestyle, high on music/art/life and yoga/exercise/meditation instead of drugs/alcohol. Responsible, reliable, honest, clean, good communication and relationship skills, respectful of each other’s needs around work, play, and sleep schedules (shower/morning routines, music volume, etc.). My schedule is flexible, so I will adjust to your morning and evening routines. I am a night person hoping for a roommate who is a morning person, so I can sleep through while you do your morning routine. ME: I do hands-on and remote healing work, teach meditation and Qigong, brainiac researcher and writer working to save the world, mostly pescetarian/mostly organic. I have an office in Santa Monica, travel to client’s homes, do sessions from home via zoom (in my room), and occasionally see clients here in the livingroom (since covid, only one regular client a couple times per month). I’m usually at home in my room working on my computer when I’m not out doing sessions or running errands or hiking / having fun. COVID COMPATIBILITY: I have had coronavirus, lasting only three days (thanks to safe and effective alternative treatments), so I have natural immunity, which is better than vaccine immunity. I prefer a roommate who also has natural immunity. I have rheumatoid arthritis, which is an auto-immune condition, and because auto-immune conditions are one of the many terrible side-effects of the covid shots (they are not vaccines, they are experimental gene therapy), I will not be getting it, and prefer a roommate who hasn’t had it and does not intend to. I cannot tolerate chlorine bleach or Lysol-type commercial disinfectants, and prefer to disinfect with hydrogen peroxide, essential oils, Simple Green, Oxy-Clean, MMS, and other non-toxic household cleaners. I still hug people and shake hands because I trust my immune system. I only wear a mask when required for entry into a store or other place of business. NOTE: I am no longer vegetarian. I have been eating 99% organic and mostly raw/vegan off and on since 2002, and for health reasons, I have added seafood back into my diet, but I do not cook it at home. I also eat raw eggs and grow sprouts in my dish drainer. You will have your own dish drainer. I might occasionally need to cook chicken or bone broths in my Instant Pot, which limits the smell a bit.
Andrea Sea


Andrea Sea