Seeking Highland Park Roommate

Posted by: David Latimer on July 3, 2023
Metro Area: Los Angeles


  • Term Length: Either


My name is David, and I’m looking for a roommate for my 2 bed/2 bath home in Highland Park, starting August 1st.

You will have your own bedroom and bathroom. This home was recently renovated and all the finishes, fixtures, and materials are new. It has central AC/heat, as well as a washer/dryer. There is a small garage in the back that can provide a little extra storage if needed. The front porch is an excellent hang out spot, and I’m creating a cool seating area in the back. The kitchen is large and has plenty of storage.

This house and neighborhood are super charming. The street has a real sense of community and is around the corner from Amara Kitchen and a 5 minute drive from all the restaurants and bars in the center of the neighborhood (York). It’s very close to the 110 and Interstate 5.

I’m waiting on several furniture items to be delivered (sofa and chairs – delivered by the end of July), but you can see some photos of my style and the type of spaces I create.
Marco Place Photos:
Hampton Photos:

I will have the great room / kitchen fully furnished and decorated (still waiting on a few furniture deliveries), and I have a fair number of plants as well. I don’t own a television and do not really want to have one in the common area. That said, I do have a projector and screen for watching films, etc.

A little about me:

I’m a very tidy, easy-going, and peaceful roommate. My home is my sanctuary, and I treat it as such. I own my own company, and I do Architectural and Interior Design for tiny homes, full size homes, and hospitality. I work from an office in Burbank, and only occasionally work from home. I also travel at least once a month and sometimes more. I’m a very active person and avid Nature lover, who spends a lot of time outdoors. I cook occasionally, mostly for dinner, and primarily use the grille outside. I’ve been in LA full time for 2+ years, and I was born and raised in Nashville, TN.

Here is my IG handle so you can get a better sense of my personality and my taste. @davidlatimer_

Also, I’ll be traveling almost the entire month of August, so you will have the house to yourself to get settled in.

Here’s a little about what I’m looking for in a roommate:

I want someone calm and respectful who feels equally comfortable interacting as they do sharing silence. There isn’t really a great space to work from home, so it is better if your job is in person and doesn’t require full-time remote work. Obviously it’s your home too, so the occasional working in the shared space is welcome! I’m looking for a harmonious cohabitation, someone warm and friendly. Someone independent and autonomous. There is no pressure or expectation to become friends, but there it is a requisite to be respectful, friendly, kind, and peaceful. Mutual respect and mutual comfort are non-negotiables.

Please provide a solid description of yourself, your work, your lifestyle, and why you’re moving. Include any relevant social media profiles. All of this will save us both time and energy. If you’re not willing to take the time to provide a brief description of yourself, it almost certainly won’t be a good fit. I will want to show you the house in person as soon as possible, and have a couple of casual, brief hangs to get a good sense of each other. Ideally looking for a roommate by August 1, but I won’t force anything either.

You will need to complete a background check and be added to the lease. Either a 6 or 12 month lease are options. 1 month rent + 1 month security deposit. You will need to provide references from previous landlords and roommates. But I think it might be best to start with 6 months to see how we get along as roommates. I moved in on June 1st.

David Latimer

I'm a 41 year old architectural and interior designer. Started with tiny homes and now do homes of all sizes. New Frontier Design is my company. I'm an avid nature lover, backpacker and adventurer. Very passionate about sustainability and social justice. From Nashville, TN, lived all over, been in LA 2 years.


David Latimer